Pancakes!

image

When my parents moved into the house they are in now, there was an old recipe book hidden in the cupboards that had been unceremoniously left behind. I love old things, thus I decided to take a look and try some of the recipes.

Many of the recipes were economical ways to throw dinner parties during the 1920s and 1930s. There was even a little price guide stuck between the front cover and the table of contents. 15-year-old me was in heaven.

The best recipe in this book, as I’m sure you can guess, was the pancake recipe. I can’t tell you how many times my brother and I would spend our Saturday mornings drinking coffee and flipping pancakes on the griddle. Sometimes we even put chocolate chips inside. Yum!

Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt

In a non-metal bowl, microwave the butter until fully melted. Mix flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the milk, the butter, and the egg.

Pour wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix well until no lumps remain. I usually stir a little bit of the wet in at a time until fully combined.

Heat a pan or griddle to medium-high heat and melt butter on it if needed. Cook pancake batter until the top is covered in little holes, then flip. Make sure the pancakes do not burn.

*I usually need to turn the heat on my griddle down as I progress through the batter, otherwise the pancakes burn while leaving large parts of the middle uncooked. Personally, I like my pancakes to be cooked all the way through.

Leave a Reply

